Review: STORM SIREN / by Mary Weber

Storm Siren / by Mary Weber  (Storm Siren Trilogy, 1)
Thomas Nelson     ISBN   9781401690342
Young Adult     Rating:     4

storm siren

Mary Weber debuts her fantasy series about a teen girl with special powers in a world at war.

In Storm Siren, seventeen year old Nym is a slave girl whose snowy-white hair and sea-blue eyes identify her as an Elemental (one who is able to summon storms). She is unusual because other Elementals are usually male. Nym is on the auction block again. Each time she gets a new owner, she has another owner’s circle marked on her right arm. She also marks her left arm, in memory of the deaths she caused by not controlling her powers.

Her new owner gives her the choice: be killed or trained as Faelen’s weapon, harnessing her Elemental powers. Eogan is someone who can temper Nym’s power while training her. Choosing life, Nym enters a world she is unprepared for – politics, dark secrets, evil plots, and more.

Mary Weber does an excellent job in building a credible and intricate world where a young woman rises to power due to her powers. The faith element is virtually non-existent, but perhaps it will be more evident in future books. Weber’s storytelling will capture your attention from the first page and hold it until the final plot twist.

Weber’s Storm Siren employs memorable secondary characters, imperfect primary characters, and a cliffhanger in the final pages – all of which will keep the reader engaged, and making the reader eager for the next book, Siren’s Fury (coming in June 2015).

Fans of The Hunger Games, and Divergent with strong heroines battling for high stakes, as well as fantasy fans of Jill Williamson and Morgan Busse will want to read this series.

Recommended for teen collections in public libraries and school libraries.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

Advertisements

5 responses to “Review: STORM SIREN / by Mary Weber

  1. It’s definitely a novel I’m planning to loan to my sister (who devours a lot fo the popular YA fantasy/distopia stuff right now). The thing it: I don’t think it’s that much better plotted than many of them (suffers from the same fits and starts in the world building) but Nym is a much better character than most of the books tend to draw. Katniss left me ambivalent/annoyed (especially in the second book); Nym made me care.

  2. I really liked this book.

  3. Me too – even though there were some things I didn’t like, I enjoyed the storyline and Nym. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I agree! Can’t wait to see how she changes in the next book . . . Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I agree — thanks for stopping by!
    Carol

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s