Review: STORM / by Bonnie S. Calhoun

Storm / by Bonnie S. Calhoun. (Stone Braide Chronicles, 3)
Revell     ISBN 9780800723781
HS     Grades 8-12     Rating: 4

storm-calhoun

Bonnie Calhoun continues her young adult dystopian series set in a world where life is very different 150 years from now. Most of the population lives in the ruins of American cities destroyed by a nuclear holocaust.

In Storm, Selah Rishon is the novarium, someone who plays a major role in an unfolding prophecy. She rescues the rest of her family from imprisonment, and they are on the run. Selah must find the Third Protocol within the next nine months or she will die.

Not everyone wants the Third Protocol discovered. Selah is being hunted by others for their own evil purposes. Meanwhile they discover a black market for selling pills that give health (or healing) to the person taking the pill.

Although the book is interesting, the faith element is non-existent. The book covers for this series are dramatic, and each book in the series gets better in terms of the storyline.

However, one should read the first book before reading this one; otherwise the reader will find it challenging to understand the backstory. Calhoun’s characters are believable and flawed, reinforcing the realism of the story. There is plenty of action and appropriate violence as Selah seeks the Third Protocol (think of the violence in Star Wars).

Calhoun creates a credible futuristic world with a strong heroine, which should appeal to fans of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games and Lisa Bergren’s Remnants series.

Recommended for public libraries and school libraries. This book is more appropriate for older teens and adults.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

 

Advertisements