Review: THE SOUND OF SILVER / by Rachelle Rea

The Sound of Silver / by Rachelle Rea (Steadfast Love Series, Book 2)
WhiteFire Publishing     ISBN 9781939023612
Young Adult     Rating: 4

sound silence

Rachelle Rea continues her medieval young adult about a young Catholic woman and a Protestant former rascal in the midst of 16th century Protestant-Catholic conflict.

In The Sound of Silver, Dirk and Gwyneth discover her parents’ murderer and the reason behind their murders. Mindful of his ruined reputation and its impact on Gwyn’s reputation, Dirk leaves her in the care of his mother and rides away.

Meanwhile, Gwyn enlists the aid of an old friend to try to clear Dirk’s name, but what is her friend’s motive behind helping her? How will Gwyn and Dirk have a future together unless he is declared innocent and his honor is restored? Will Gwyn continue to grow in her personal relationship with God or will their separation cause her to question the truth?

Rea has a knack for creating interesting characters – who wouldn’t love a heroine who needs glasses? Written in alternating first-person point-of-view, the reader feels in the middle of the action. Faith elements are carefully interwoven. Rea is careful to balance the Catholic and Protestant faith without being too critical of either. In The Sound of Diamonds, the theme is hope – in The Sound of Silver, truth. The third book, The Sound of Emeralds is coming in 2016.

Recommended for teen collections in school and public libraries. Fans of Melanie Dickerson and Jody Hedlund (both are authors of young adult medieval fiction) will enjoy this new author’s work

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. 

Advertisements