Review: THE SOUND OF EMERALDS / Rachelle Rea

The Sound of Emeralds, / by Rachelle Rea (The Steadfast Love Series, Book 3)
WhiteFire Publishing     ISBN 978-1939023636
Young Adult     Rating: 4

sound emeralds

Rachelle Rea concludes her medieval young adult series about a young Catholic woman and a Protestant former rascal in the midst of 16th century Protestant-Catholic conflict.

In The Sound of Emeralds, the story of Dirk and Gwyneth continues in 16th century Europe where the tension between Catholics and Protestants blazes. What started as hatred between them eventually evolves into lasting love, leading to marriage. But weddings don’t guarantee happy endings. As Dirk struggles to clear his name or face deadly consequences, Gwyn finds out that he has kept secrets from her. Will a friend from her past be an ally or an enemy to clearing Dirk’s name?

As the final book in this series, it builds on the romance from the earlier novels. Well-written and beautiful, The Sound of Emeralds presents God’s peace, in the same way the earlier books had the themes of hope and truth. Written in alternating first-person point-of-view, the reader feels in the middle of the action. Faith elements are carefully interwoven. Rea is careful to balance the Catholic and Protestant faith without being too critical of either.

This book is filled with plenty of plot twists and strong emotion. Faith elements are interwoven and integral to the plot. She creates flawed individuals in a troubled time in church history. How many heroines need glasses, especially in historical fiction? Her book is carefully researched and grabs the reader’s attention from the first page.

The Steadfast Love Series is a clean historical romance series, recommended for older teens and adults.

Recommended for teen collections in school and public libraries. Fans of Melanie Dickerson and Jody Hedlund (authors of young adult medieval fiction) will enjoy this new author’s works.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. 

Advertisements