Review: Embassy Row series / by Ally Carter

Take the Key and Lock Her Up (Embassy Row, 3) / by Ally Carter
Scholastic Press     ISBN     9780545654951

See How They Run (Embassy Row, 2) / by Ally Carter
Scholastic Press     ISBN     9780545654845

All Fall Down (Embassy Row, 1) / by Ally Carter
Scholastic Press     ISBN     9780545654746
HS     (Grade 7-10)     Rating: 4

all-fall-down see-how-they-run take-the-key

Ally Carter, author of The Gallagher Girls and Heist Society series, pens a new series for teens filled with espionage, mystery, family secrets, and plenty of plot twists.

In All Fall Down, sixteen year old Grace Blakeley, granddaughter of the American ambassador to Adria, watched her mother die three years ago. Trouble seems to follow her. No one believes her recollection of her mother’s death, causing her to distrust those around her, including her grandfather, the Russian boy next door and her other friends living on Embassy Row. But what happens when she starts to discover the truth behind her mother’s death? Was it an accidental or part of an international conspiracy?

In See How They Run, Grace is still living in Adria. She is reeling from her recent discovery of the truth behind her mother’s murder. Her brother Jamie comes home from West Point with a buddy, Spence, whose grandmother was born in Adria. Troubles ensue when Grace stumbles upon a secret society, female assassins, Roman tunnels, and ancient secrets tied to her mother’s death. But the truth doesn’t set Grace free – it threatens her life!

In Take the Key and Lock Her Up, Grace knows the terrible secret that has been guarded for over 200 years, a family secret so big that revealing it could start a revolution. Some people will do anything to prevent it from being found out. Now Grace is in a race to save everyone she cares about by cutting through the years of lies and the web of deceit that is hidden in a conspiracy no one will ever believe.

Ally Carter writes books with plenty of action, adventure and thrills. Carter cleverly uses lines from a nursery rhyme to title her books in this series. The relationships between Grace and her friends are not the usual boy-girl romance; there may be a hint of attraction but that is not the focus. The depth of friendship is more important making this a clean read even for older middle school readers. The series will grab the reader’s attention from the start and hold it until the end.

Recommended for public and school libraries.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.