Review: UNSPOKEN [and] UNDETECTED / by Dee Henderson

Unspoken / by Dee Henderson
Bethany House     ISBN 9780764211713

Undetected / by Dee Henderson
Bethany House     ISBN 9780764211437
Adult     Rating: 4

unspoken undetected

Prolific author Dee Henderson kicks off a new contemporary romantic suspense series featuring the Bishop brothers, strong heroes who accept the challenge of befriending unique women.

In Unspoken, Charlotte Graham’s horrific past catches up with her as she deals with a family legacy. Years earlier, she was kidnapped and held prisoner for four long years. Since her rescue, she has rebuilt her life, found a profession she loves and changed her identity – and most importantly, she never told anyone about those years of captivity.

Now a reporter is writing a book about her kidnapping. Either she has to break her silence or pray the reporter doesn’t uncover the truth. She wants to trust Bryce Bishop who is helping her with her grandfather’s estate, but revealing the truth will put her loved ones in danger. The police thought the case was solved when her abductors were caught, but they were wrong.

In Undetected, Gina Gray — dedicated ocean science researcher — meets Mark Bishop, naval commander of a ballistic missile submarine. Widowed, Mark wants someone to come home to after patrol, and he has his eye on Gina, but Gina is so engrossed in her work that she might not see it.

When Gina needs Mark’s assistance in her work, they begin a relationship that is as complicated as Gina’s research, which results in a quick marriage before Mark’s next deployment. Gina’s research could affect Mark’s deployment to the frontline of an oceanic skirmish. Could Gina’s research on solar flares help Mark avoid being a casualty? Could the US help the Chinese find their missing sub without triggering a battle between the other nations patrolling those waters? Will Mark come home safely from deployment?

Henderson is an excellent storyteller, weaving plot twists and character development. Violence in the story is appropriate but not graphic, and the faith element is light not overpowering.

Recommended for adult collections in public libraries. Will appeal to fans of Irene Hannon, DiAnn Mills, and Lynette Eason.

Carol R. Gehringer

–reprinted with permission, Christian Library Journal

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s