Review: TRACES OF GUILT / Dee Henderson

Traces of Guilt / by Dee Henderson (An Evie Blackwell Cold Case)
Bethany House       ISBN  9780764218866
Adult     Rating:     3

traces of guilt

Award-winning author Dee Henderson pens a new contemporary suspense series featuring a female police detective being considered for the governor’s cold case task force.

In Traces of Guilt, Evie Blackwell begins with two cases in Carin County, Illinois: a missing six-year-old whose family was on vacation and a missing local deputy. On Evie’s way into town, she hits a deer, and Sheriff Gabriel Thane comes to the accident scene. She joins forces with him to reopen the investigation for these cases. Evie and Gabriel also enlist his family’s help, including his father who had been the sheriff during the time of both disappearances.

Henderson fans will be delighted to note the appearance of characters from an earlier novel (Paul and Ann Falcone, Full Disclosure). The novel is told in multiple points of view, with the text indicating which character’s point of view follows (Evie, Gabriel, Ann, etc.).

Violence in the story is appropriate but not graphic. The story is sad as the two cold cases are solved, for the families left behind still have to deal with the aftermath of these crimes. The other members of the Thane family probably will appear in the future books in this series.

In Traces of Guilt, the faith element is light, and the book focuses more on the cold case investigations. Although tagged as romantic suspense, Traces of Guilt is more suspense than romance. Like some of her recent books, it is lighter on the romance between the main characters. Still, it is a good book that Henderson fans will enjoy reading.

Recommended for public libraries. Will appeal to fans of Irene Hannon, DiAnn Mills,  and Lynette Eason.

Carol R. Gehringer