Review: THE CHASE / by DiAnn Mills

The Chase: A Novel (Crime Scene: Houston) /by DiAnn Mills

Zondervan (April 3, 2012), ISBN 978-0310333173

Adult  Rating: 5

Award-winning author DiAnn Mills presents a new contemporary suspense series featuring a FBI agent and a fiction writer who join forces to solve a cold case involving the death of a little girl.

In The Chase, Kariss Walker wants to base a suspense novel on an unsolved murder she reported when she was a TV news anchor five years ago. The horror of the case reminds her of a painful incident in her past. Though a writer of women’s fiction, she has a passion to write suspense novel, even when her agent is reluctant to represent her.  Calling in a favor from an FBI supervisor, she is teamed with Agent Tigo Harris to research FBI procedures and learn more about the little girl’s death. She convinces them to re-open the case, putting both of them in danger. Solving the case involves a gang Tigo is investigating, her sister’s ex-husband.

The faith element is light. Kariss was raised in a Christian home but has fallen away from her roots. Her faith is renewed when she narrowly escapes death. Tigo has a faith-filled mother who has encouraged her son to follow God. Following his mother’s death, Tigo promises his mother that he will return to church.

Mills writes unpredictable stories with realistic characters, some are quite unsavory. As expected, the violence is appropriate for the storyline. The relationship between Kariss and Tigo develops slowly. Clearly they are attracted to one another, but they are focused more on solving the case. The Chase also includes author notes and discussion questions.  Fans of Catherine Coulter’s FBI series and Dee Henderson will also enjoy this series.

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Carol R. Gehringer

— Reprinted with permission, Christian Library Journal, 2013.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s