Review: TAKEN / by Dee Henderson

Taken, / by Dee Henderson
Bethany House     ISBN9780764215711
Adult     Rating:     4

taken

Award-winning author Dee Henderson pens another contemporary romantic suspense featuring a woman who was abducted as a teen and finds a way home, with the help of a private investigator.

In Taken, sixteen-year-old Shannon Bliss was abducted and forced to participate in the activities of the Jacoby crime family for more than ten years. She wants to resume a normal life but also wants to see them pay for their crimes against her and others.

She calls Matthew Dane, a former cop turned private investigator, to help her uncover the evidence, coordinate the arrests, and navigate her reentry into society–before the Jacoby family tries to silence her. But in doing so, will he stir up a hornet’s nest that endangers them both?

Like her earlier work, Unspoken, this novel also deals with a female crime victim who wants to reclaim a normal life after having it taken from her. Matthew Dane is a close friend of characters introduced in earlier books; they now appear as minor characters in Taken. He has to use his contacts–including those friends–to untangle her life during captivity. Dee Henderson fans will enjoy the continuation of the Chicago-based ensemble introduced in Unspoken and Full Disclosure.

Henderson is an excellent storyteller, weaving intricate plot twists with complex character development. Violence in the story is appropriate but not graphic, and the faith element is light and not overpowering. Taken is lighter on the romance and relationships than her other novels, with slightly more emphasis on the suspense which will keep the reader guessing who is responsible for Shannon’s abduction.

Like her earlier work, Unspoken, this novel also deals with a female crime victim who wants to reclaim a normal life after having it taken from her. Matthew Dane is a close friend of characters introduced in earlier books; they now appear as minor characters in Taken. He has to use his contacts – including those friends — to untangle her life during captivity. Dee Henderson fans will enjoy the continuation of the Chicago-based ensemble introduced in Unspoken and Full Disclosure.

Recommended for adult collections in public libraries. Will appeal to fans of Irene Hannon, DiAnn Mills, and Lynette Eason.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thanks to Bethany House for a free copy for the May 2015 blog tour.

 

2 responses to “Review: TAKEN / by Dee Henderson

  1. Pingback: WHAT I’M READING / REVIEWING NOW | Worthy 2 Read

  2. Pingback: Review: TAKEN / By Dee Henderson | Worthy 2 Read

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s