Review: THE SURVIVOR / by DiAnn Mills

The Survivor (Crime Scene: Houston) / by DiAnn Mills

Zondervan (March 5, 2013), ISBN 978-0310333227

Adult  Rating: 5

Award-winning author DiAnn Mills continues her suspense series featuring a FBI agent and a fiction writer who join forces to solve cases.

Suspense novelist Kariss Walker and FBI agent Tigo Harris work together up again in The Survivor. The story takes place about six months after the events in The Chase, Mills’ earlier book. Dr. Amy Garrett sends Kariss an email about surviving a crime that was attempted twenty-three years earlier. She wants Kariss to use it as the basis of her next novel to inspire women to become survivors.

Meanwhile, Tigo investigates a car bombing involving his FBI supervisor’s friend. Both are caught up with their individual cases, wondering how to resolve their feelings for one another. Someone threatens Kariss as she investigates the facts behind Amy’s story. When Dr. Garrett’s car is bombed and the bombs were identical to those in Tigo’s case, their danger intensifies.  Can they solve the case before one of them is killed? Will Kariss live to write the ending of her latest novel?

Mills writes action-packed, suspense novels with realistic characters. As expected, the violence is appropriate for the storyline. The faith element is light but evident. At the beginning of The Survivor, Kariss became a Christian, and Tigo was still an unbeliever. She broke off their dating relationship. Tigo struggles with his concept of God in the face of the evil he deals with on a daily basis. But when he experiences God’s love, he becomes a believer, which in turn, affects their relationship.

The Survivor also includes author notes and discussion questions.  Fans of Catherine Coulter’s FBI series and Dee Henderson will also enjoy this series.

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Carol R. Gehringer

— Reprinted with permission, Christian Library Journal, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s