Review: SIREN’S SONG / Mary Weber

Siren’s Song / by Mary Weber (The Storm Siren Trilogy,#3)
Thomas Nelson     ISBN     9781401690403
Young Adult (Grades 9-12)     Rating: 4

sirenssong

Mary Weber concludes her fantasy series about a teen girl with special powers in a futuristic world.

In Siren’s Song, Nym is an Elemental (one who is able to summon and control storms) who is used as a weapon by those in power for their own agenda. Each time it drains her, physically and emotionally. But as a slave, she has little control over her own life.

Her last battle with Draewulf leaves her barely alive. Now as he prepares for another battle, Nym realizes she must warn the other kingdoms before he strikes again. Is her power strong enough for the battle ahead? What about Nym’s role in the final prophecy?

Throughout this series, Weber’s storytelling engages the reader’s attention from the first page, holding until the gripping final chapter. The third installment – like the earlier ones — is filled with imperfect characters and plot twists, making it both character and plot-driven.

Sacrifice for the good of others is a strong theme in her series. The faith element is very light, but compassion and emotional strength are valued. The battle of good vs. evil is clear. For example, Nym’s Elemental power – the one she was born with — is considered good but the unnatural (dark) power is considered evil.

Fans of The Hunger Games, and Divergent with strong heroines battling for high stakes, as well as fantasy fans of Jill Williamson and Morgan Busse will want to read this series’ conclusion.

Recommended for teen collections in public libraries and school libraries. Books 1 (Siren’s Fury) and 2 (Storm Siren) were reviewed last year (2015).

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews by them.

 

One response to “Review: SIREN’S SONG / Mary Weber

  1. Pingback: My 16 Anticipated Reads for 2016 | Worthy 2 Read

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s