Review: SILENCED / by Dani Pettrey

Silenced (Alaskan Courage, 4) / by Dani Pattrey
Bethany House     ISBN     9780764211959
Adult (HS) Grades Rating: 4

Pre-publication copy reviewed

51hWaff3FDL

Dani Pettrey continues the story of the McKenna siblings in this contemporary suspense novel set in Alaska. Although each sibling is the main focus of a different book, they all frequently appear in the other books, continuing their story.

In Silenced, Kayden McKenna, an avid rock climber, encounters a dead climber during a climb. Her feelings for mysterious Jake Westin have grown despite her resistance — thanks to the news of his true identity as a former Boston homicide detective. When Sheriff Grainger calls on them to investigate the death, it becomes clear that it was no accident. The killer seeks revenge for a past wrong and threatens Kayden and Jake as they uncover the truth. Will they find the killer before they discover the depth of their feelings for one another?

Meanwhile, Reef, the once bad-boy McKenna, returns to Yancey with his girlfriend, Anna, in preparation for Piper and Landon’s wedding. She welcomed him at her father’s church. Reef made a number of life changes after the death of a friend, including becoming a Christian. But is Anna really the one for him or is he trying too hard to make things work?

Pettrey continues to grow as a writer – her Alaskan Courage series carefully blends romance and adventure with page-turning suspense. While her characters are imperfect, struggling with faith and relationship issues, they endear themselves to the reader because of their imperfections. Readers have been waiting for Kayden’s story, watching her spar with the mysterious Jake since the series started.

Fans of Dee Henderson, Irene Hanson, Lynette Eason, and other suspense writers will not be disappointed by this series.

Recommended for high school libraries, as well as adult collections in public and libraries.

 

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thanks to Bethany House and NetGalley for an advanced copy of this book.

Advertisements

4 responses to “Review: SILENCED / by Dani Pettrey

  1. Pingback: SILENCED Blog Tour – Review & Giveaway | Worthy 2 Read

  2. Pingback: WHAT I’M READING / REVIEWING NOW | Worthy 2 Read

  3. Pingback: BLOG TOUR: SABOTAGED by Dani Pettrey is HERE!! | Worthy 2 Read

  4. Pingback: Review: COLD SHOT / Dani Pettrey | Worthy 2 Read

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s