Review: WHERE TWO HEARTS MEET (and) ON LOVE’S GENTLE SHORES, / by Liz Johnson

Where Two Hearts Meet, / by Liz Johnson (Prince Edward Island Dreams, 2)
Revell     ISBN 9780800724504

On Love’s Gentle Shores, / by Liz Johnson (Prince Edward Island Dreams, 3)
Revell     ISBN 9780800724511
Adult     Rating: 4

Author Liz Johnson continues her contemporary romance series, set at the Red Door Inn on Prince Edward Island (PEI).

In Where Two Hearts Meet, executive chef Caden Holt is self-confident until she is asked to show a handsome journalist around. Adam Jacobs, an international journalist on sabbatical, is mistaken for a travel writer writing an article that will save the Red Door Inn. Caden is more at home in the kitchen than spending time with the handsome journalist, especially since she is a little overweight. Adam is attracted to her and enjoys her company. Caden struggles with insecurity and self-esteem, while Adam is weighed down with mistakes from the past. Can they overcome these challenges, to discover a future together?

In On Love’s Gentle Shore, Natalie O’Ryan returns unexpectedly to PEI years after leaving it abruptly. She buried her past so deep that she appears to everyone as calm and self-controlled. Even her fiancé Russell Jacobs doesn’t know of her abusive family background. He surprises her with a summer vacation and fall wedding on PEI. Then Russell leaves for weeks during their stay, and her childhood friend Justin helps her continue with wedding plans. Natalie faces her past when her alcoholic father reappears in her life. Will Natalie marry Russell in light of her hidden past? Will the truth set Natalie free?

Johnson writes endearing stories with such descriptive detail that the reader experiences the beauty of Prince Edward Island. Her main characters are imperfect, and in need of second chances, healing, forgiveness, and love.  The faith element is evident but light-handed, as they learn to face their pasts and accept themselves the way God sees them. Then they are open to loving and being loved by others, and who doesn’t love a happy ending?

Recommended for adult collections in public libraries. For readers who grew up with Anne of Green Gables, it is a welcome return to the island. For fans of Becky Wade, Courtney Walsh, and Denise Hunter.

Carol R. Gehringer

Reprinted with permission, Christian Library Journal (2018).

Reviewed earlier: Red Door Inn (January 2018).

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

Advertisements