Review: MISS SERENA’S SECRET / by Carolyn Miller

Miss Serena’s Secret / by Carolyn Miller (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope, 2)
Kregel     ISBN     9780825445347
Adult     Rating:     4

Australian author Carolyn Miller returns with another wholesome Regency romance with courtly romance, historical details, and excellent characterization.

In Miss Serena’s Secret, undiscovered artist Serena Winthrop has a secret from her past, which causes her to distrust all men, especially the smooth-talking Viscount Henry Carmichael. His charming reputation makes her distrust and disapprove of him. But lately, Carmichael has become disenchanted with his current life. Henry wonders if he will ever be worthy of an admirable wife or a better reputation. Serena’s guardian asks his friend Henry not to court her, despite his growing attraction to her, a promise Henry finds hard to keep. Will Serena’s artistic talent be discovered? How will Serena’s secret affect her future?

Readers can relate to Miller’s characters because they face problems in terms of others’ expectations, faith issues, and their everyday circumstances. Witty banter, first-rate characterization, historical narrative, reappearance of characters from earlier books, and a light but evident faith element characterizes Miller’s books.

Recommended for high school and public libraries. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, Sarah Ladd, and Regency romances will enjoy this new series. The author’s next book, The Making of Mrs. Hale, is expected in November 2018. Miller’s fans will enjoy the reappearance of some characters from her first series, Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace.

Carol R. Gehringer

Previously reviewed: The Elusive Miss Ellison, The Captivating Lady Charlotte, The Dishonorable Miss DeLancey, and Winning Miss Winthrop.

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

Advertisements