Review: A HERO FOR MISS HATHERLEIGH / by Carolyn Miller

A Hero for Miss Hatherleigh/ by Carolyn Miller (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope, 2)
Kregel     ISBN     9780825445897
Adult     Rating:     4

Australian author Carolyn Miller begins a new inspirational Regency series, set in England, complete with elements of romance and intrigue.

In  A Hero for Miss Hatherleigh, Caroline Hatherleigh, the eldest daughter of Viscount Aynsley, is a proper young lady of society and she knows its rules. When a friend is touched with scandal, her mother sends her to the countryside to protect her daughter’s reputation.

Caroline meets fossil-hunting scientist Gideon Kirby and his sister Emma while in Devonshire. Gideon loves hunting down clues about creatures who lived long ago. His work challenges his personal beliefs. His sister is in hiding, running from an abusive husband. Gideon befriends Caroline but the threat of scandal from the past may undo their relationship. Will they overcome their differences and build a future together, despite the secrets they hide?

Miller’s readers have come to expect a clean romance suitable for older teens and adults, with historical detail and superior characterization. Her characters are realistic, facing financial, spiritual, physical, and societal challenges, allowing the reader to more easily relate to them.

The faith element is clearly evident, especially as Caroline ponders the placement of God in her life (as central to her life instead of on the sideline). Miller’s books touch on challenging situations, like spousal abuse in this book, and often include intrigue to go along with the romance. A Hero for Miss Hatherleigh, one meets smugglers, scientists, and societal conventions to challenge the characters.

Recommended for high school and public libraries. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, Sarah Ladd, and Regency romances will enjoy this new series. Watch for the next book, Underestimating Miss Cecily,  in the summer of 2019.

Carol R. Gehringer

Previously reviewed: The Elusive Miss Ellison, The Captivating Lady Charlotte, The Dishonorable Miss DeLancey, and Winning Miss Winthrop.

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s