Glamorous Illusions /  Lisa T. Bergren (The Grand Tour Series, 1)
David C. Cook     ISBN 9781434764300
Adult     Rating: 4

Grave Consequences /  Lisa T. Bergren (The Grand Tour Series, 2)
David C. Cook     ISBN 978-1-4347-6432-4
Adult     Rating: 3

Lisa T. Bergren presents her Grand Tour series, featuring Cora, a poor girl from Montana who discovers she is the illegitimate daughter of a wealthy man. As she travels with her new family in 1913 Europe, she uncovers more than she expects in herself and those around her.

In Glamorous Illusions, Cora Diehl returns home after her first year of teacher training and finds her father having a stroke. As her father lies dying and the prospect of losing the farm becomes real, Cora learns her parents have hid a secret from her for nineteen years: she is really the daughter of Mr. Kensington, the copper tycoon.

Her biological father helps the Diehls get medical care for her father in exchange for Cora’s presence on a tour of Europe with the Kensingtons and their friends. Her parents move to Minnesota for her father’s health while Cora’s life is changed forever.

In Grave Consequences, Cora Kensington reluctantly continues her tour of Europe with her newly discovered siblings. As they travel, an enemy and a new romance put plans in jeopardy. Cora discovers why her biological father wants a relationship with her after ignoring her for nineteen years. What will become of their travel plans now as she stands up to him?

Glamorous Illusions and Grave Consequences are filled with adventure, as Cora travels through Europe. Will she succumb to the charms of the dashing Pierre, or will another sweep her off her feet? Will the glamour of her new life be worth the price? Will she discover her faith again and make the right decisions?

Bergren weaves historical fiction with hints of romance and a dash of suspense. Readers enter the world of Edwardian Europe where rich narrative and mostly likeable characters abound. Glamorous Illusions ends abruptly with many loose ends. However, Grave Consequences continues the story of Cora, wrapping up many of the loose ends, while still leaving some to be answered in the final book, Glittering Promises. The faith element is evident but not preachy, as Cora struggles with her decisions and their consequences.

Recommended for adult collections in public libraries and school libraries.

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

–Reprinted with permission, Christian Library Journal, 2014.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s