Review: FATAL FROST / by Nancy Mehl

Fatal Frost / by Nancy Mehl (Defenders of Justice, 1)
Bethany House     ISBN     9780764217777
Adult     Rating:     4

fatal-frost

Prolific author Nancy Mehl kicks off a new romantic suspense series featuring US marshals.

In Fatal Frost, US Marshall Mercy Brennan is assigned to a joint task force with the St. Louis Police Department after being shot while on duty. Unfortunately it puts her in contact with her father’s undercover work with a St. Louis gang. Her life is in danger when the gang believes he passed off sensitive information to Mercy before his death.

Her boss assigns her ex-boyfriend, US Marshall Mark St. Laurent, to work with her. They follow clues leading back to a mole on their own team. En route to a remote safe house, they are stranded by an ice storm, facing their common enemies: a traitor in their midst and the drug cartel hunting down Mercy.

Mehl has written a number of cozy mysteries and romantic suspense novels. This series represents a slight departure for her – it is more plot-driven. Like her earlier works, however, this book is also character-driven. Mercy is a strong female protagonist, who made a life for herself, despite her estranged relationship with her father.

Mark and Mercy’s earlier relationship ended when Mark became a Christian. Being together brings back memories and helps Mercy work through her issues with Christianity. By the end, she is clear that God spoke to her in the midst of the storm, bringing about her healing from childhood hurts. Readers will encounter good and bad cops, gang violence and drug cartels. The faith element is not heavy-handed, and the violence is appropriate for the story.

Recommended for public and high school libraries. Fans of DiAnn Mills, Irene Hannon, and Dani Pettrey will appreciate this new series.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.