Review: THE ELUSIVE MISS ELLISON, by Carolyn Miller

The Elusive Miss Ellison, / by Carolyn Miller (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace, 1)
Kregel     ISBN     9780825444500
Adult     Rating:      4

Carolyn Miller writes her first inspirational Regency novel in her new trilogy.

In The Elusive Miss Ellison, the entire village – except for Miss Lavinia Ellison — eagerly anticipates the arrival of the new Earl of Hawkesbury. She believes him to have the same reputation as brother: reckless and arrogant. Lavinia is the unmarried bluestocking daughter of the local minister. Nicholas is a former war hero and reluctant Duke, unprepared for the problems his brother left unsolved and the other obligations he faces. When Nicholas, the new Earl, is challenged by feisty Lavinia to move beyond his wounded pride, it may provide too many obstacles for them. A family secret adds to the complications they face.

Like Austen’s original Pride and Prejudice, wealthy Nicholas suffers from too much pride and is a snob! Feisty Lavinia suffers from too much prejudice towards his family and their effect on others around them. Both of them come to an appreciation of God’s forgiveness as they move past their own histories.

Like Austen’s original Pride and Prejudice, wealthy Nicholas suffers from too much pride and is a snob! Feisty Lavinia suffers from too much prejudice towards his family and their effect on others around them. Both of them come to an appreciation of God’s forgiveness as they move past their own histories.

Miller does an excellent job in portraying Regency England with its historical details and solid characterization. Like anyone, her characters face real problems in terms of finances, others’ expectations, and finding one’s place, allowing the reader to identify with them as they struggle to become better people. While the storyline is somewhat predictable, it follows the pattern of a good Regency novel; the faith element is light, the romance is clean, and it is a cozy read!

A second book, The Captivating Lady Charlotte, will be released in summer 2017, and a third book, The Dishonorable Miss DLancey, will be released in October. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, and Regency romances will welcome this new author!

Recommended for high school and public libraries.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

Advertisements