Review: THE DISHONORABLE MISS DELANCEY / Carolyn Miller

The Dishonorable Miss Delancey, / by Carolyn Miller  (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace, 3)
Kregel     ISBN     9780825444524
Adult     Rating:      4

Carolyn Miller concludes her inspirational Regency novel trilogy. In The Dishonorable Miss Delancey, Clara Delancey leaves London after a scandal caused by her unreal expectations of a gentleman’s attentions, her mother’s attempts to force a marriage upon said gentleman, and her brother’s financial affairs. Relocating to Brighton, she makes the acquaintance of an injured naval captain’s sisters. Captain Benjamin Kemsley also befriends Clara and seeks to lift her from the despair that threatens her. A friendship ensues, much to the disdain of Clara’s mother. Can they find a future together without financial and family support?

Miller  excels in presenting Regency England with solid characterization and rich, historical details. Her characters face real problems in terms of finances, others’ expectations, and finding one’s place, permitting the reader to more easily identify with them. Appearances of characters from earlier books is a welcome surprise for the Miller fans. The faith element in The Dishonorable Miss Delancey is light but evident, as Clara thanks God for her troubles for the fruit it bore in her life. As expected, the romance is clean, and it is a delightful read for adults and older teens!

Recommended for high school and public libraries. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, and Regency romances will welcome this new author! The final chapter introduces a character who will be the lead in the author’s next series coming in spring 2018.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

Earlier titles in this series: The Elusive Miss Ellison, and The Captivating Miss Charlotte.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s