Review: DANGEROUS ILLUSIONS / Irene Hannon

Dangerous Illusions / by Irene Hannon (Code of Honor series, 1)
Revell     ISBN     9780800727673
Adult     Rating:     5

Award-winning author Irene Hannon pens a new contemporary suspense series featuring a group of childhood friends.

In Dangerous Illusions, art teacher Trish Bailey cares for her ailing mother after the car accident that claimed her father’s life two years earlier. Accountant Matt Parker befriends Trish after the accident by handling the finances of their family’s charitable foundation.

When her mother dies, the police start to suspect Trish might have played a role in her mother’s death. Matt supports her through the investigation, but he has been acting strangely since his own recent car accident. Detective Colin Flynn isn’t sure if she made a mistake in administering her mother’s medication or if her mother’s tragic death was deliberate. Together they try to uncover the puzzle pieces behind her mother’s death, only to find a deadly plot in play.

Hannon captures the reader’s attention from the first page and holds it until the final page. She pens believable characters, a well-written plot with plenty of twist and turns, just enough romance to make things interesting, and subtle faith elements in the story. Things are never what they appear to be on the surface.

Hannon weaves the intrigue throughout the fast-paced story, distributing clues a little at a time, making the reader wonder if they missed something earlier in the story. Hannon’s latest novel is a page-turner that will keep the reader up late at night, trying to finish the book and uncover the truth.

Highly recommended for all high school and public libraries. Fans of DiAnn MillsLynette Eason, and Dani Pettrey will enjoy this new series.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

 

Advertisements