Review: COLD SHOT / by Dani Pettrey

Cold Shot, / by Dani Pettrey (Chesapeake Valor, 1)
Bethany House     ISBN 9780764211973
Adult     Rating:     4

cold shot

Award-winning author Dani Pettrey pens a new romantic suspense series set in coastal Maryland, about four childhood friends who choose careers in law enforcement but drift apart when one friend disappears before graduation.

In Cold Shot, Griffin McCray – former SWAT team sniper – lives a quiet existence as a park ranger at Gettysburg. When a present-day body is uncovered in the Civil War cemetery, forensic anthropologist Finley Gray is called in. So is Griffin’s childhood friend, FBI agent Declan Grey, reopening a past Griffin thought was over. But someone doesn’t want the body identified and will stop at nothing to end the investigation, putting them all in danger. Can they unravel this mystery before it turns deadly?

Pettrey’s books features strong flawed personalities (male and female) with real problems that readers will find they can relate to. The developing relationship between Finley and Griffin is clean and well developed; they recognize that in order to face a possible future, each must deal with the past first. The romance element is clean and appropriate for readers, high school through adult. The faith element is very evident; when the main characters pray, the prayer is included in the text, making the faith element more obvious.

The plot is intriguing, filled with twists that will keep the reader up late — until the final page is read. The mastermind behind it all and the motive were unexpected. Suspense, romance, action, and danger – it all adds up to a thrilling read!

Recommended for adult collections in public libraries. Fans of Dee Henderson, DiAnn Mills, and Irene Hannon will enjoy this new series.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

 

 

Advertisements