Review: THE CAPTIVATING LADY CHARLOTTE / Carolyn Miller

The Captivating Lady Charlotte, / by Carolyn Miller  (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace, 2)
Kregel     ISBN     978082544
Adult     Rating:      4

Carolyn Miller continues her Regency series, set in England and featuring young women and their circumstances.

In The Captivating Lady Charlotte, Lady Charlotte Featherington is the beautiful daughter of a marquess. She falls in love with a dashing suitor, but her father intends for her to marry Duke William Hartwell, a widower. She has captured his heart, but can he capture hers? His wealth and title will not win her over, but will his patient courtship? Will they find a love match beyond their expectations? What happens when her “dashing suitor” wants to break up Charlotte and William’s relationship by any means?

Miller writes a wholesome Regency novel that her fans have come to expect: a courtly romance suitable for adults and older teens, with historical detail and excellent characterization. Readers of her first novel will be delighted to revisit some familiar characters in this book (Lavinia and Nicholas from The Elusive Miss Ellison). The faith element is present but light. Charlotte learns from her cousin Lavinia’s guidance who sets a godly example for her on true love (learning that it is more than feelings; it is a choice). This helps her to mature and change from a naïve, eighteen-year-old girl to a mature, young woman who can control how she responds to her circumstances.

Recommended for high school and public libraries. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, and Regency romances will welcome this new author’s books. A third book, The Dishonorable Miss DeLancey, will be released in October.

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s