Review: BURIED SECRETS / by Irene Hannon

Buried Secrets / by Irene Hannon (Men of Valor, Book 1)
Revell (April 7, 2015)     ISBN   9780800721268
Adult     Rating:     5

buried secrets

Award-winning author Irene Hannon pens a new romantic suspense series featuring the McGregor brothers settling into civilian life after their stint in the military.

In Buried Secrets, Mac McGregor – a former Navy SEAL — is a county detective sent to assist a small-town police chief, Lisa Grant. She honed her investigative skills as a Chicago homicide detective. They meet when a construction crew finds human skeleton remains outside town. Though attracted to one another, their first priority is to solve the mystery and find the killer.

Mac’s brothers, Finn and Lance, are introduced when they visit Mac, and the ground is laid for the remaining books (book 2 is expected in Spring 2016). One of the main characters has a medical condition that plays into the killer’s plans. It is refreshing to find individuals who aren’t perfect.

As Mac and Lisa begin to uncover the truth, the killer has too much at stake to risk exposure and starts eliminating the other suspects with deadly accidents. Will the killer be desperate enough to create another deadly accident to end their investigation?

Hannon writes edge-of-your seat inspirational romantic suspense that will keep the reader engaged until the final page. Unexpected plot twists will keep the reader on their toes as the truth surrounding the fifteen-year-old crime is revealed. The faith element is light, not heavy-handed. Her books are filled with suspense, sigh-worthy romance, appropriate violence, and clean language. Although written for adults, the books would be acceptable for high school students as well.

Recommended for public libraries. Fans of Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, and DiAnn Mills will clamor for this new series!

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thanks to Revell Reads for a free copy of this book in exchange for my review.

3 responses to “Review: BURIED SECRETS / by Irene Hannon

  1. Pingback: Review Posted: BURIED SECRETS / by Irene Hannon | Worthy 2 Read

  2. Pingback: WHAT I’M READING / REVIEWING NOW | Worthy 2 Read

  3. Pingback: Review: THIN ICE / by Irene Hannon | Worthy 2 Read

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s