Review: BLIND SPOT / Dani Pettrey

Blind Spot, / byDani Pettrey (Chesapeake Valor, 3)
Bethany House     ISBN     9780764212963
Adult     Rating:     5

Award-winning author Dani Pettrey continues her romantic suspense series set in coastal Maryland, about childhood friends with careers in law enforcement.

In Blind Spot, FBI Agent Declan Grey is chasing down leads to an imminent terrorist attack on US soil. When his investigation takes him to an immigrant community, he calls on Tanner Shaw for assistance. Tanner works with immigrants and refugees, and recently joined the FBI as a crisis counselor. They find themselves fighting the clock to neutralize the threat, even as they recognize the growing attraction between them. Can they stop the terrorists in time?

Pettrey.’s series features strong personalities with real problems. Declan, Tanner, and their friends are people with flaws, problems in their past, and consequences in their future caused by the choices they made. The faith element is evident but not preachy: for example, Declan prays for his relationship with Tanner. Their relationship is clean (appropriate for high school readers).Pettrey excels at creating an ensemble of characters the reader cares about. Characters from earlier novels reappear, to the reader’s delight.

More than just character development, Pettrey also excels in plot development. The plausible plot take the reader on a thrilling roller-coaster ride until the end with a final plot twist!  answers some but not all of the questions – which no doubt will be answered in Dead Drift (book 4), scheduled for July 2018.

Recommended for public libraries. Fans of DiAnn Mills and Irene Hannon will especially enjoy this series. Suspense, romance, and action add up to a thrilling read!

Carol R. Gehringer

Earlier Series Titles: Cold Shot, and Still Life.

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s