MILLSTONE OF DOUBT, by Erica Vetsch

Millstone of Doubt, / by Erica Vetsch (Thorndike & Swann Regency Mysteries, 2) 
Kregel     ISBN     9780825447143
Adult     Rating:     5

millstone of doubt cover

Award-winning author Erica Vetsch continues her Regency mystery series filled with memorable characters and historical details set in 1816 England.

In Millstone of Doubt, Lady Juliette Thorndicke and detective Daniel Swann team up to solve the murder of a local mill owner (and father to Julia’s best friend) following an explosion. Only the mill owner was shot, not killed by the blast. Can they uncover the truth while tensions are rising and there are several motives for his death?

Known for her historically accurate Regency romances, Vetsch returns with another detective story featuring the debutante Juliette and detective Daniel, filling the book with traditional mystery elements – red herrings, intrigue,  and secrets. Millstone of Doubt, like her earlier mystery, is filled with faith elements (especially the theme of God as our Father), plot twists, a touch of humor, and a clean relationship between Daniel and Julliette (with the focus more on the mystery than a romance). 

Daniel is nearing his 25th birthday when he hopes his questions will be answered about his mysterious patron. The mill owner’s murder helps to distract him him as he investigates the suspects. Meanwhile Juliette improves her skills as an agent of the Crown, following in the steps of her parents. 

Readers will be delighted at the reappearance of Marcus and Charlotte, from The Gentleman Spy, as well as several characters from the first book in this series, The Debutante’s Code.

Watch for the third book, Children of Shadow, coming in 2023.

Recommended for public libraries and high school readers. Fans of Kristi Hunter, Sarah Ladd, Julie Klassen, and Roseanna White’s The Codebreakers series will enjoy this new series by Vetsch. 

Carol R. Gehringer

Disclaimer: Book reviews are my honest opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publishers, publicists, and/or authors. I am not required to write reviews, nor to even post positive reviews

Comments Off on MILLSTONE OF DOUBT, by Erica Vetsch

Filed under Adult Reviews, BOOK REVIEWS

Comments are closed.