Review: YOU’RE THE ONE THAT I WANT / Susan May Warren

You’re the One That I Want, / by Susan May Warren (A Christiansen Family Novel, 6)
Tyndale House     ISBN 9781414378466
Adult     Rating: 4


Susan May Warren concludes her series set in Deep Haven, Minnesota, featuring the six adult children in the Christiansen family and their relationships. Each book opens with a letter from their mother, giving insight into the main character. Owen has been the prodigal since the second book in the series, but he is “more than the sum of his mistakes” (back cover).

In You’re the One That I Want, Owen Christiansen works on an Alaskan crabbing boat, and becomes attracted to the no-nonsense Elisa “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter and former police officer. A near-death accident at sea changes their relationship.


More than just romances, these are stories of flawed individuals with very messy lives and life-changing mistakes. God teaches them about forgiveness of others and themselves. Warren uses these imperfect lives to teach the reader about God’s gift of grace and that strength it takes to live a life of faith.

Have you read the other books in this series? Here are my reviews:

Watch for Susan May Warren’s new series, coming in Fall 2016.



Comments Off on Review: YOU’RE THE ONE THAT I WANT / Susan May Warren

Filed under Adult Reviews, BOOK REVIEWS

Comments are closed.