Interview & Cover Reveal: A TIME TO SPEAK / Nadine Brandeis

COVER REVEAL

A TIME TO SPEAK / by Nadine Brandes

a tine to speak

Goodreads link, A TIME TO SPEAKhttp://bit.ly/ATtSGoodreads

PUBLISHER’S SUMMARY:

How do you live after you planned to die?

Parvin Blackwater should have died in her brother’s place. She didn’t. Now she’s the only one who can protect her village, but no one wants to listen. When the Council starts forcing “new and improved” Clocks on the public, those who refuse are declared Radicals and exiled.

Having been across the Wall once, Parvin is the only one who can save them. But instead of going through the Wall, she’s packed into a boxcar, loaded on a cargo ship, and forced out to sea.  How will she lead when facing the unknown? 

Worse yet, why are people suddenly dying before their Clocks have zeroed-out? 

* * *

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Nadine Brandes is an adventurer, fusing authentic faith with bold imagination. Her dystopian trilogy, the Out of Time Series, challenged her to pursue shalom, which is now her favorite word (followed closely by ‘bumbershoot’.) When Nadine’s not taste-testing a new chai, editing fantasy novels, or being a Harry Potter super-nerd, she and her knight-in-shining armor (nickname: “hubby”) are out chasing adventures.

AUTHOR LINKS: Website: http://nadinebrandes.com Newsletter: http://nadinebrandes.com/my-newsletter Facebook: http://facebook.com/NadineBrandesAuthor Twitter: http://twitter.com/NadineBrandes Goodreads: http://goodreads.com/NadineBrandes

* * *

The author is sponsoring a giveaway —

Click here to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway

* * *

AUTHOR INTERVIEW:  Let’s get to know the author a little bit. I asked Nadine Brandes a few questions recently.

1) How long did it take to write A TIME TO SPEAK vs. your first book, A TIME TO DIE?

I wrote A Time to Die in three years. There’s definitely a bit of perfectionist in me, but thankfully that made the book as good as it could be! A Time to Speak was quite different. I have deadlines now that I agreed to in my contract, so I wrote A Time to Speak in just less than a year. Phew! It was grueling, but came out much better than expected.

2) I know you like to drink chai. What’s your favorite go-to snack when writing?

Goldfish or cheesy toast (because I could eat bags and bags of goldfish until my tongue turns raw from all the salt.) If I’m in the mood for something sweet, I’ll usually have a couple pieces of shortbread with my tea. Not the healthiest of snacks. But I’m not much of a snacker while I write anyway. I’m a sipper. 😛

3) What books are you reading this summer?

I’m trying to catch up on my Christian sci-fi and fantasy lists. I own so many books by fellow Christian authors, but have a tough time finding the space in a day to read them! This summer I’m being especially intentional. This includes Out of Darkness Rising, by Gillian Bronte Adams, The Storm Siren Trilogy by Mary Christine Weber, Hive by John Otte (when it releases), and The Face of the Deep series by Steve Rzasa.

4) How long do we have to wait for your next book?

I’ll be announcing the “official” release date within the next month or so! But for now, I can tell you it comes out in the Fall. You don’t have to wait that long! [grin]

Thanks, Nadine! I’ve reviewed Mary Weber’s first two books, but the others are still on my list. Can’t wait to read your books when my copies come!

* * *

HAVEN’T READ Book 1 yet? Here’s a link to A Time to Die on Amazon: http://bit.ly/AmazonATtDpaperback time to die

PUBLISHER’S SUMMARY (A Time to Die):

How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater believes she has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside. In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the government’s crooked justice system.

But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence. What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her clock is running out.

A Time to Die is nominated to the Clive Staples Award for Speculative Fiction (2015) and for a 2015 Christy Award.

Although I missed reading it when came out, it is on my summer reading list! I will post my review of A Time to Die later this summer, and I am pre-ordering the sequel, A TIME TO SPEAK. I’ll also review A TIME TO SPEAK when it releases later this year.

Comments Off on Interview & Cover Reveal: A TIME TO SPEAK / Nadine Brandeis

Filed under BOOK REVIEWS, Young Adult Reviews

Comments are closed.